Re: Lena Dunham

Why does everyone love to hate on Lena Dunham so much? I think she’s fantastic. I thought the pilot for her new show (Girls) was pretty funny. I thought her movie (Tiny Furniture) was super witty. 

Oh, is it because she’s self-indulgent? I think that’s her point. What 20-something isn’t (to some extent)? We all think that no one understands what we’re going through. Let’s all whine and cry and BLOG about it. We’re young! We do what we want! Stop putting so much pressure on us! Sound familiar?

Oh, is it because she only focuses on the privileged white girl? So what? It’s shoved down our throats that we should “write what we know.” Maybe that’s what Ms. Dunham knows. Chill.

Oh, but this makes her tv show and movie super unrelatable. Call me crazy, but what we watch for entertainment doesn’t have to be relatable for it to be enjoyable. We don’t watch an episode of Friends and think, “I love this show because it mirrors my life! So and so is totally a Joey and I am such a Rachel! And we always have a couch reserved at our local coffee shop and this guy works there that is sooo in love with me OMG, Y’ALL.” Oh, and have you ever heard of a little show called Gossip Girl?!

So yeah, just leave her alone, will you? Especially the people who HAVEN’T EVEN WATCHED HER STUFF YET and instead base their claims on somebody who’s been sippin on haterade over at The Huffington Post. (I love The Huffington Post, though, and did I really just say “haterade”? Whatever).

But I guess at the end of the day, to each his own and blah blah blah we all have our own opinions blah blah blah expand your horizons and shit. Make love not war, you guyzzzzz.

This is the part where you say, “I don’t know who Lena Dunham is.”

Leave a Reply

