5 Things I Want You to Watch Instantly on Netflix

1. Bo Burnham: Words Words Words

Nothing gets this girl going like some good word play, and Bo Burnham is the Pun Master Supreme. He’s so clever I want to make love to his brain. Yeah. It’s that serious.

2. Before Sunrise

A guy (totally dreamy 90’s Ethan Hawke) and a girl meet on a train. They spend the day walking around Vienna before the guy has to take a plane back to America. This movie is purely dialogue-based, which I think is fantastic. Did I mention the guy is a totally dreamy 90’s Ethan Hawke? Did I mention they’re in Vienna? Did I mention you’re left with so many questions at the end? Do they ever see each other again? How? Why? What is life? What is fate? Lucky for us, there’s a sequel to answer at least one of these questions. Before Sunset. I’m serious and I recommend the hell out of it, too.

3. The Walking Dead

I know you’re like shut up about this show already, but I want you to watch it. I want you to watch it right now. I want you to watch it on some sketchy third-party website if you don’t have Netflix. I want you to watch it because it has that dude from Love Actually in it. You know, the one who holds up the poster telling Keira Knightley she’s perfect or whatever, even though we all know that Keira Knightley is not perfect and needs to eat a Big Mac or something. I want you to watch it for me, for my sake. For Keira’s androgynous body’s sake.

4. My So-Called Life

Angela Chase is the most relatable character to ever exist in the history of ever. Also, Jordan Catalano and his, like, band, or whatever, like, Frozen Embryos, like, yeah, we’re playing over at Tino’s tonight and, like, yeah you should stop by or whatever. Also, flannels everywhere! Flannels around the waist. Flannels over a t-shirt. Flannels hanging limply over shoulders. NINETIES. FLANNELS.

5. The Human Experience

This documentary is heartwarming, heartbreaking, inspiring, and reminds you that life’s not about the destination, but about the experience, mayyyne. Anything else I say won’t do it justice, so here’s a synopsis: “…the story of a band of brothers who travel the world in search of the answers to the burning questions: Who am I? Who is Man? Why do we search for meaning? Their journey brings them into the middle of the lives of the homeless on the streets of New York City, the orphans and disabled children of Peru, and the abandoned lepers in the forests of Ghana, Africa. What the young men discover changes them forever. Through one on one interviews and real life encounters, the brothers are awakened to the beauty of the human person and the resilience of the human spirit.” I have the emotional range of a turtle, yet major waterworks ensued both during and after watching this. PLEASE WATCH IT.

Now, go forth my children. The Netflix gods have cast these programs down upon you. Do not squander this opportunity.

4 thoughts on “5 Things I Want You to Watch Instantly on Netflix

Leave a Reply

